All in-person cadet activities are suspended until 31 August 2020. Stay safe.

Staff and Squadron Sponsoring Committee


Squadron Sponsoring Committee

Squadron Sponsoring Committee



 Officers of the Cadet Instructors Cadre (CIC) are members of the Canadian Forces Reserve working as part of the Cadet Organizations Administration and Training Service (COATS) whose primary duty is the supervision, administration and training of youth from 12–19 years of age who are members of the Royal Canadian Sea, Army and Air Cadets in more than 1,100 corps and squadrons across Canada. 

Commanding Officer:  Captain Rosemarie D'Aguiar

Deputy Commanding Officer/Training Officer:  Captain Scott Harvey


Assistant Training Officer:  Captain Javed Khan


Unit Cadet Conflict Management Advisor:  Captain Rosemarie D'Aguiar

Standards Officer:  Captain Ian Clarke

Master Warrant Officer Murray Charlton (Retired)

Training Liaison Officer:  Captain Neil Gagnon

 Civilian Instructors (CIs) and Civilian Volunteers (CVs) are members of the staff and are tasked with many duties to assist the CIC Officers with effective management of the Squadron activities.

Administration Officer:  

Civilian Instructor Gail Waller

 Ground School Instructor:  Civilian Instructor Laurie Macdonald

Instructor/Legion Liaison: Lieutenant Tim McGrath (Retired)

Supply Officer: Civilian Instructor Clinton Tipton


Officer Cadet Erika Gagnon

Civilian Volunteer  Sophia Fremis

Civilian Volunteer Gayla Ber

Squadron Sponsoring Committee

Squadron Sponsoring Committee

Squadron Sponsoring Committee



Our Squadron Sponsoring Committee(SSC) is composed of parent volunteers. All parents are automatically members of the committee and are welcome to attend the committee meetings which generally meet the first Tuesday of the month at Cardinal Carter Catholic High School. The committee executive Members, Chair, Co-Chair, Treasurer and Secretary are positions that are filled by election.

SSC members work with the squadron to ensure annual plans and budget are in place, organize fundraising initiatives, provide financial and administrative needs, and support cadet recreational programs, etc.  The SSC coordinates the tagging campaigns each Fall and Spring. They also organize annual events like the Christmas party and organize food for the reception following the Annual Ceremonial Review. 

SSC Executive

Chair:  Mr. Tony Francis ( 

Vice Chair:  Ms Mae Sung ( 

Treasurer:  Ms. Carmen Simpson


Secretary:   Ms. Marina Rudenko ( 

About 140 Aurora Squadron

Our History

For 30 years, 140 Aurora Squadron has been home to several hundred cadets, from across York Region.   Involvement in Air Cadets provides youth aged 12 - 19 with opportunities to pursue interests in aeronautics; develop leadership abilities; demonstrate citizenship, promote physical fitness and stimulate an interest in the Canadian Armed Forces. The Squadron's alumni have gone on to careers in aviation, business and the military.


This hard-working organization is a prime example of an organization that considers community involvement and betterment an important part of its mission, while exemplifying its motto:

Through Excellence to the Stars 


Our 30th Anniversary!

On 19 October 2019, 140 Aurora Squadron made history.  We received Freedom of the Town from the Town of Aurora in a ceremony that began with a parade to the Town Hall and a Proclamation by Mayor Tom Mrakas, read by the Town Crier, John Webster.  

Freedom of the Town is an honour rarely given to cadet units.  140 Aurora Squadron is proud to receive it in recognition of our 30 years of service to the citizens of Aurora.

We thank the Mayor and the Councillors for this honour.  A special thank you to the Town Crier for his participation in this event.

That evening, the Squadron hosted a 30th Anniversary Gala Dinner at the Cardinal Golf Club.  Our guest speaker was Jacquie Perrin, the noted Canadian journalist.  Ms Perrin is an Honourary Member of the Squadron and entertained us all with her memories of her time with the Squadron as our Effective Speaking Coach.

Days like this don't happen without a lot of work behind the scenes by so many.  

Our Squadron Sponsoring committee made the dinner come together.  Thank you to our Chair, Tony Francis, our Vice-Chair, Mae Sung, our Treasurer, Suzanne Gilbody, our Secretary, Marina Rudenko, and Karen Strong, who, with Ms Sung, made the table decorations.   

Our EmCee was a recent addition to the staff, but with his own history at 140 Aurora Squadron.  Thank you to Captain Javed Khan for filling this role.

Special thanks also to Mike Degteariov, who was our official photographer for the day.  Be sure to go to the Gallery here to see his wonderful pictures.

Of course, none of this would have been possible without our Founder, Lieutenant Colonel Ferguson Mobbs (retired).  Without his vision, we would not be the Squadron we are today.

On to the next 30 years and beyond.